You are using Internet Explorer version 7 to access WesternAustralia.com.
This website may not behave as expected on your current browser version. To upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer, click here

{{currentPageData.Title}}

Let our school and public holiday planner help you time your trip.

Whether it’s a long weekend camping in a lush national park or two weeks by the beach, school and public holidays are always popular times to explore Western Australia with family and friends.

So check out the upcoming school and public holidays below and start planning your next adventure now.

Be sure to also check out our events calendar too for more things to see and do in WA.


Public Holidays in Western Australia

Did you know? Western Australia's school and public holidays mostly commemorate landmark Australian historic events, or religious celebrations, with an average of ten public holidays per year.

Should a State holiday fall on a weekend, the extra day's holiday is taken the first working day following.

2014

2015

2016

New Year's Day

Wednesday 1 January

Thursday 1 January

Friday 1 January

Australia Day

Monday 27 January

Monday 26 January

Tuesday 26 January

Labour Day

Monday 3 March

Monday 2 March

Monday 7 March

Good Friday

Friday 18 April

Friday 3 April

Friday 25 March

Easter Monday

Monday 21 April

Monday 6 April

Monday 28 March

ANZAC Day

Friday 25 April

Saturday 25 April
and
Monday 27 April

Monday 25 April

Western Australia Day  

Monday 2 June

Monday 1 June

Monday 6 June

Queen's Birthday*

Monday 29 September

Monday 28 September

Monday 26 September

Christmas Day

Thursday 25 December

Friday 25 December

Official Holiday: Sunday 25 December
Public Holiday: Monday 26 December

Boxing Day

Friday 26 December

Official Holiday: Saturday 26 December
Public Holiday: Monday 28 December

Official Holiday: Monday 26 December
Public Holiday: Tuesday 27 December


*The date of the Queen's Birthday public holiday can vary for certain areas of Western Australia. Be sure to check with the relevant local visitor centre in your destination before confirming your travel plans.

The above information has been sourced from Western Australia's Department of Commerce.


School Holidays in Western Australia

2014

2015*

2016*

Semester One
Term One

Monday 3 February -
Friday 11 April

Monday 2 February - 
Thursday 2 April

Monday 1 February - 
Friday 8 April

Holiday Break

Saturday 12 April - 
Sunday 27 April

Friday 3 April - 
Sunday 19 April

Saturday 9 April - 
Monday 25 April

Term Two

Monday 28 April - 
Friday 4 July

Monday 20 April - 
Friday 3 July

Tuesday 26 April -
Friday 1 July

Holiday Break

Saturday 5 July - 
Sunday 20 July

Saturday 4 July - 
Sunday 19 July

Saturday 2 July - 
Sunday 17 July

Semester Two
Term Three

Monday 21 July - 
Friday 26 September

Monday 20 July - 
Friday 25 September

Monday 18 July - 
Friday 23 September

Holiday Break

Saturday 27 September - 
Sunday 12 October

Saturday 26 September - 
Sunday 11 October

Saturday 24 September - 
Sunday 9 October

Term Four

Monday 13 October - 
Thursday 18 December

Monday 12 October - 
Thursday 17 December

Monday 10 October - 
Thursday 15 December

Holiday Break

Friday 19 December -
Sunday 1 February 

Friday 18 December -
Sunday 31 January 

Friday 16 December - 
Tuesday 1 February


*Preliminary dates only: to be confirmed closer to the date.

Visitors should be aware that school holiday periods in other states may differ from Western Australia's holiday calendar.

The WA school holiday information has been sourced from Western Australia's Department of Education and Training.

Get Inspired

Camping & Caravanning
Camping & Caravanning
On a caravaning and camping adventure in Western Australia, you can explore the largest and most diverse expanse of outback landscapes in Australia.

Nature's Calendar
Nature's Calendar
Western Australia boasts an amazing line up of spectacular natural events and attractions, many of which are only found in a handful of locations on Earth.

Recreational Fishing
Recreational Fishing
Recreational fishing in Western Australia offers some of the world’s best deep sea fishing, freshwater fishing and beach fishing challenges and rewards.

Top 10 Free Things to do in the South West
Top 10 Free Things to do in the South West
From the Bibbulmun Track to whale watching in Albany, Australia’s South West offers one of the most varied holiday experiences for anyone on a budget.

National Parks & Forests
National Parks & Forests
Choose from 100 Western Australian national parks, explore Kings Park, be dwarfed by karri forests, or walk in the treetops of the Valley of the Giants.

Homesteads, Stations & Farmstays
Homesteads, Stations & Farmstays
Head for the homesteads, outback stations and farmstays of Western Australia to experience the serenity and simple pleasures of country and outback life.

Top 10 Free Things to Do in Perth & surrounds
Top 10 Free Things to Do in Perth & surrounds
Enjoy Perth for free – fishing in Mandurah, picnics in Kings Park, wine tasting in the Swan Valley, snorkelling in Rockingham and more.

Sun & Sea
Sun & Sea
Enjoy abundant sun, surfing and sea life all year round on Australia’s longest state coastline – a grand total of 12,000 kilometres.

Must See & Do
Must See & Do
As one of the largest and most diverse states in the world, Western Australia is never short of unique and extraordinary holiday experiences. Here you will find our list of must see and do's - all bound to surprise and inspire.

Top 10 Camping Spots
Top 10 Camping Spots
Caravanning and camping in Western Australia is the best way to immerse yourself in the State's biodiversity and natural wonders. Check out the top 10 spots.

Itineraries
Itineraries
Check out some itineraries to help inspire and plan your holiday in Western Australia. Ranging from short to long stay, they cover a variety of destinations and experiences ensuring there’s something for everyone.