You are using Internet Explorer version 7 to access WesternAustralia.com.
This website may not behave as expected on your current browser version. To upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer, click here

{{currentPageData.Italics}}

{{currentPageData.Title}}

{{slide.DisplayTitle}}

{{slide.Description}}

Western Australia's school and public holidays mostly commemorate landmark Australian historic events, or religious celebrations, with an average of ten public holidays per year.

Should a State holiday fall on a weekend, the extra day's holiday is taken the first working day following.


 

Public Holidays in Western Australia

2014

2015

2016

New Year's Day

Wednesday 1 January

Thursday 1 January

Friday 1 January

Australia Day

Monday 27 January

Monday 26 January

Tuesday 26 January

Labour Day

Monday 3 March

Monday 2 March

Monday 7 March

Good Friday

Friday 18 April

Friday 3 April

Friday 25 March

Easter Monday

Monday 21 April

Monday 6 April

Monday 28 March

ANZAC Day

Friday 25 April

Saturday 25 April
and
Monday 27 April

Monday 25 April

Western Australia Day  

Monday 2 June

Monday 1 June

Monday 6 June

Queen's Birthday*

Monday 29 September

Monday 28 September

Monday 26 September

Christmas Day

Thursday 25 December

Friday 25 December

Sunday 25 December
and
Monday 26 December

Boxing Day

Friday 26 December

Saturday 26 December
and
Monday 28 December

Monday 26 December
and
Tuesday 27 December


*The Queen's Birthday public holiday will be confirmed upon Gazettal.

The above information has been sourced from Western Australia's Department of Commerce.


School Holidays in Western Australia

2014

2015*

2016*

Semester One
Term One

Monday 3 February -
Friday 11 April

Monday 2 February - 
Thursday 2 April

Monday 1 February - 
Friday 8 April

Holiday Break

Saturday 12 April - 
Sunday 27 April

Friday 3 April - 
Sunday 19 April

Saturday 9 April - 
Monday 25 April

Term Two

Monday 28 April - 
Friday 4 July

Monday 20 April - 
Friday 3 July

Tuesday 26 April -
Friday 1 July

Holiday Break

Saturday 5 July - 
Sunday 20 July

Saturday 4 July - 
Sunday 19 July

Saturday 2 July - 
Sunday 17 July

Semester Two
Term Three

Monday 21 July - 
Friday 26 September

Monday 20 July - 
Friday 25 September

Monday 18 July - 
Friday 23 September

Holiday Break

Saturday 27 September - 
Sunday 12 October

Saturday 26 September - 
Sunday 11 October

Saturday 24 September - 
Sunday 9 October

Term Four

Monday 13 October - 
Thursday 18 December

Monday 12 October - 
Thursday 17 December

Monday 10 October - 
Thursday 15 December

Holiday Break

Friday 19 December -
Sunday 1 February 

Friday 18 December -
Sunday 31 January 

Friday 16 December - 
Tuesday 1 February


*Preliminary dates only: to be confirmed.

Visitors should be aware that school holiday periods in other states may differ from Western Australia's holiday calendar.

The WA school holiday information has been sourced from Western Australia's Department of Education and Training.

More Travel Information

Travel to WA
Travel to WA
Western Australia is easily accessible by land, sea and air. The State's capital, Perth, is Australia's western gateway.

Travel around WA
Travel around WA
You’ll find it really easy to travel around WA’s five extraordinary regions – Take a drive, tour, coach, train or flight.

Mobile App
Mobile App
Tourism Western Australia has launched a new smartphone application for WA. The free application will list thousands of places to see, explore, eat, drink and stay all at your fingertips.

Map of WA
Map of WA
Plan your Western Australian holiday with Google maps showing WA accommodation, attractions and more.

Travel Tips
Travel Tips
This section features simple tips and background information to help you make the most of your holiday in Western Australia.

Working Holidays
Working Holidays
An Australian working holiday offers sun, adventure, an awesome natural environment and friendly people. Nowhere else in the world can you experience and interact with such unique natural attractions.